For various reasons, it has not been possible to include a photo with this Archive entry. If you’d like to come forward with photos, please see the Contribute page at the bottom left


Also known as: née Akeroyd

Born: 1 December 1930

Died: 6 April 2016

Additional Information:

Educator, author, scholar.
Her appeal against mandatory retirement paved the way for older Australians to retain working positions after retirement age.
Received ANZAC Fellowship Award, , Creswick Fellowship Aware, and Jean Denton Memorial Fellowship.

1980 - Founding Dean of the De Lissa Institute of Early Childhood and Family Studies.
1994 - Professor of childhood development at the University of South Australia.
1998 - Awarded inaugural Australian Humanitarian Award
2000 - Awarded Senior Australian of the Year.
2005 - Awarded Officer of the Order of Australia (AO).