For various reasons, it has not been possible to include a photo with this Archive entry. If you’d like to come forward with photos, please see the Contribute page at the bottom left


Also known as: Neil Campbell and Mona

Born: 30 October 1932

Died: 20 January 2010

Special Achievements:

1959 - First female lecturer in the University of Tasmania Law School, teaching political science.
1967 - The first woman to hold a Chair in Law at any university in Australasia, when appointed Sir Isaac Isaacs Professor of Law, Monash University.
1971 - The first female Dean of any law school in Australasia, appointed Dean of Monash Law School.
16 June 1979 - Appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (Civil) (OBE(C)), for services to education in the field of law.
1990 - Received Honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD), University of Tasmania.
2005 - Received a Companion of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Additional Information:

1965-1967 - Associate Professor in Law, University of Sydney, New South Wales.
1967-1997 - Sir Isaac Isaacs Professor of Law, Monash University, Victoria.
1971 - Elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia.
1990 - Received the degree of Doctor of Laws honoris causa, University of Tasmania.
Also awarded Doctor of Laws degrees (Honoris Causa) from the University of Sydney and Monash University.
Wrote several books/textbooks, e.g., Parliamentary Privilege in Australia (1966), Legal Research: Methods and Materials, and Freedom in Australia.