Ellen Dymphna CUSACK

Also known as: née Cusack, Nell

Born: 21 September 1902

Died: 19 October 1981

Special Achievements: Additional Information:

Wrote 11 books. Author of Pioneers of Paradise (1939) with Miles Franklin and Come In Spinner (1951) with Florence James.

1920 - Won an exhibition and Teachers’ College scholarship, University of Sydney.

1925 - Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), University of Sydney.

1926 - Diploma of Education (DipEd), University of Sydney.

1926-1944 - Teaching career, Broken Hill area, New South Wales.

1928 - Wrote her first, unpublished, novel This Nettle, Danger.

1933-1942 - Wrote three plays: Shallow Cups (1933), Anniversary (1935), and Red Sky at Morning (1935).

1935 - Her second novel, Jungfrau (1936), was runner-up for the S. H. Prior Memorial Prize.

1963 - A foundation member of the Australian Society of Authors.

1975 - Named Woman of the Year by the Union of Australian Women.

1976 - Refused the Order of the British Empire (OBE) “due to her republican ideals”.

1981 - Appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM), for her contribution to Australian literature.