JACKSON, Marjorie

Also known as: Lithgow Flash, Marj, Marjorie Jackson-Nelson

Born: 13 September 1931

Special Achievements:

1950 - First Australian woman to break a world record for the 100 metres; won four gold medals (100 yards; 220 yards; 440 yards Medley Relay; 660 yards Medley Relay), British Empire Games, Auckland.
1952 - First Australian woman to win an Olympic Gold Medal, Helsinki, 1952, Athletics, 100 metres, which resulted in the ABC [Australian Broadcasting Corporation] Sportsman of the Year award --- the first of either sex to win gold on the track since the first Olympics in 1896.
1994 - First woman to be named as manager of an entire Commonwealth Games team.
2013 - Became the second Australian to be inducted in the International Association of Athletics Federations' Hall of Fame.

Additional Information:

Broke 10 world records and took seven Commonwealth gold medals.
1952 - Outstanding Athlete award, Helms Foundation, USA.
1953 - Appointed Member of the British Empire (MBE), services to women's athletics.
1954 - Gold Medalist, Vancouver Empire and Commonwealth Games - Athletics - 100 yards, 220 yards and 4 x 110 yards relay; Retired from athletics.
1982, 1986, 1990 - Women's section manager for the Brisbane Commonwealth games.
1985 - Admitted into the Australian Sporting Hall of Fame.
1986 - Outstanding Athlete award from the International Amateur Athletics Association.
1988 - Recognised as one of only 20 living members of the 200 Great Australians named to mark the nation's bicentenary.
1990 - Named an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO).
1995 - Named a Legend of Australian Sport, Sport Australia Hall of Fame.
1998 - Nominated by Governor-General and Prime Minister as one of the 200 Great Australians; Honoured by Australia Post on a postage stamp titled 'Olympic Legends.’
1999 - Voted as one of the Australians of the Century Herald Sun.
2000 - Bearer of the Olympic Flame at the Opening Ceremony Olympic Games, Sydney.
2001 - Appointed Companion of the Order of Australia (AC).
2001-07 - Governor of South Australia.
2002 - Appointed Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (CVO).